WiPHoF Seeks New Inductees

Published By Mia Gardner : 09 Mar 2018 | Last Updated: 22 Dec 2020

The prestigious Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has announced that it will be accepting nominations for new members in 2018 until 15 March. The organisation only inducts new members on a biannual basis so fans are encouraged to take this opportunity to honour their favourites.

Fans should also be aware that the Women in Poker Hall of Fame is not reserved exclusively for actual poker players; it is also a platform for recognising the contributions of major industry leaders and other contributors. What matters is that nominees have made a significant contribution to the sport in some way.

Nominee Requirements

Although a nominee does not need to be a professional poker to qualify for membership, the Women in Poker Hall of Fame does impose some minimum requirements for eligibility:

For starters, women nominated for this prestigious honour must be at least 35 years of age – this is not the place for rising stars. In addition, nominees need to have been active contributors (as players or in other roles) to the poker industry for at least a decade – so this is also not the place for flash-in-the-pan-ners. These individuals must also be shown to be admired and ardent proponents of their own cause – i.e. of women in poker.

Naturally, all nominations are subject by a committee of the WiPHoF Committee and other inductees and nominees must agree to certain terms and conditions.

Who Can Nominate Members?

Literally anyone can nominate the individual or individuals whom they feel are worthy of a spot in this hallowed hall. All they need to do is go to the Women in Poker Hall of Fame website (wiphof.com) and cast their nominations. The website offers a form via which fans can nominate up to three female poker stars, offering reasons for each of their selections.

How Are The Winners Decided?

Once a nominee has been vetted and approved by the WiPHoF Committee and fellow inductees, her name is entered into the ballot and put to a vote.

The Women in Poker Hall of Fame voting panel consists of existing WiPHoF inductees as well as 20 media representatives and industry professionals.

Notable WiPHoF Inductees

The 19 inductees on the Women in Poker Hall of Fame voting panel include three members of the illustrious Poker Hall of Fame (which includes both men and women):

Respectfully known as the First Lady of Poker, Linda Johnson is not only a professional player; she also publishes books on the industry and was involved in founding the World Poker Tour. Jennifer Harman is one of just two women who have won two bracelets in World Series of Poker open events. Finally, Barbara Enright was the first woman to win a WSOP open event bracelet back in 1996.

The 2018 Women in Poker Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place at The Orleans Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

bellerockentertainment.com uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details